NEWEC Board of Directors

The Council is led by a diverse, volunteer board that includes professional educators, parents and representatives of private industry.

Board President: Traci McGlathery, STCU, Spokane

Vice President:  Barbara Richardson, Ph.D.,  Washington St. University-Spokane, Spokane

Douglas B. Durham,
retired, Spokane
Gary Gainer, retired, Spokane
Freda Gandy,  Martin Luther King, Jr. Family Outreach Center, Spokane

Brenda McDonald, PRIDE Prep, Spokane
June Sine, NEWESD 101 Board of Directors, Spokane Valley

Attorney of Record:  
Laura McAloon, McAloon Law, PLLC, Spokane



Council's goal: Build opportunity for kids

State "core" funding of ESDs in Washington has been declining for more than a decade. In 2017, "core" funding totaled only about 3 percent of the overall NEWESD 101 budget. The remaining 97 percent was derived from competitive grants, cooperatives and fees for service.

To compensate for declining state revenue in a time of rising need, NEWEC was formed to help diversify and stabilize funding for service to students and schools.

Ways to help

Gifts may be made to the Council in a number of ways including volunteerism, one-time donations, multi-year pledges, matching corporate gifts, endowments and bequests. Gifts options include:

• Cash

• Gifts in-kind (personal property)

• Securities

• Designated United Way donations

The Council is a 501(c)(3) public charity. That is an IRS designation that means the organization is eligible to receive tax-deductible contributions.


NEWEC mission statement

IRS 990-EZ statement, 2016

NEWEC funding guidelines