NEWESD 101 quick facts (2017-18):

  • Service area (in square miles): 14,026
  • Public school districts served: 59
  • State-approved private schools: 45
  • State-approved charter schools: 2
  • Public school enrollment: 92,584
  • Private school enrollment: 6,367
  • Charter school enrollment: 801
  • Total regional enrollment: 99,752
  • Counties served: 7

Superintendent's message

Welcome to NorthEast Washington Educational Service District 101. Our team of talented and dedicated professionals embraces the opportunities and responsibilities associated with serving and supporting P-12 education in our region, and the various private, public and higher education partnerships that are an important part of the larger educational enterprise. We provide a wide array of programs, services and support to 59 public school districts, 45 state-approved charter schools, and two charter schools located across seven counties (Adams, Ferry, Lincoln, Pend Oreille, Spokane, Stevens and Whitman) in northeast Washington. We are also privileged to partner in programs that serve youth in the juvenile detention system, as well as young people who need and deserve options to pursue educational completion and career competencies.

As one of Washington’s nine ESDs, we promote and support educational excellence through the provision of essential, cooperative services to schools, learning communities and valued partners. Our commitments include:

  • Assisting schools and other learning communities in preparing students across our region for success in the 21st century.
  • Maintaining strong, supportive and mutually beneficial relationships with districts, schools and educational partners.
  • Providing quality service and value.
  • Blending entrepreneurial imagination and public service spirit.
It is the nearly 100,000 students in our region, and the professionals who serve them, who are the very reason for our existence and who inspire the quality and breadth of our work. We strive, always, to navigate north…to continually improve and support similar continued improvement in student learning, professional practice and shared efficiencies.

Michael Dunn, Ed.D.